iorewcount.blogg.se

Installl grub on usb witg druvers
Installl grub on usb witg druvers







installl grub on usb witg druvers
  1. #Installl grub on usb witg druvers install
  2. #Installl grub on usb witg druvers Pc
  3. #Installl grub on usb witg druvers download
  4. #Installl grub on usb witg druvers windows

Googling I found a bunch of solutions to install/reinstall GRUB to an usb/external drive, but when I tried them, it seemed they were working only as long as I booted on the same device which I used to install GRUB on the usb drive. The situation was the same as when I tried to boot from my Surface having the distro installed in legacy mode: the Surface didn't recognize the bootable usb drive at all.

installl grub on usb witg druvers

So I tried to reinstall Kali with EFI mode activated on the VM, but I wasn't lucky this time either and didn't manage to boot the distro on my Surface.

#Installl grub on usb witg druvers Pc

All was OK as long as I booted on my pc supporting legacy boot, but when I tried to boot from my Microsoft Surface (which doesn't support legacy boot), I obviously couldn't boot from the external drive. was installed in legacy mode (boot instructions written in the MBR). When I first tried I didn't booted my VM in EFI mode and so the O.S. I tried to install Kali Linux distro to my usb drive according to this video, in which a VirtualBox VM is used to install the O.S. I know that this might be a bad practice, but just wanna give it a try. The idea is to carry the usb drive with me and boot the distros in the computer available at the place where I am at that moment. If you used this tutorial on a YUMI-UEFI prepared drive, the Syslinux bootloader should have been directly replaced with Grub 2.I'm trying to make a usb drive with two linux distros installed inside. Supporting all three i386-pc, i386-efi, and x86_64-efi architectures. Your USB device can now UEFI and BIOS boot from 32-bit or 64-bit systems. If all went well, you should now be able to boot from your USB Flash drive into a running Grub2 environment. Finally, to install Grub2 for UEFI 64 bit, grub-install.exe -force -removable -no-floppy -target=x86_64-efi -boot-directory= X:\boot -efi-directory= X:\ Then, to install Grub2 for UEFI 32 bit, grub-install.exe -force -removable -no-floppy -target=i386-efi -boot-directory= X:\boot -efi-directory= X:\Ĩ. grub-install.exe -force -no-floppy -target=i386-pc -boot-directory= X:\boot //./PHYSICALDRIVE #ħ. (replacing X with your drive letter and # your Disk number),Īnd then press Enter. To install Grub2 for BIOS, type or copy the following, From the Disk Management Window, make a note of which Disk Number and Volume Drive Letter belongs to your USB device.

installl grub on usb witg druvers

To do this type the following, then press Enter.

#Installl grub on usb witg druvers windows

Now you’ll want to open Windows Disk Management Tool so that you can determine your USB drive letter and its related disk number. cd %UserProfile%\Desktop\grub*for-windowsĤ. Type the following into the Command Prompt and then press Enter. Next, to change to the grub-2.04-for-windows directory, You’ll need to use a command line to run grub-install.exeġ.) From the Windows ‘⌕ Type here to search’ box, type cmd.exeģ. This folder will contain grub-install.exe amongst several other files.Ģ. Alternately, you can use a1ive’s modified Grub2 version which includes extra features.Īs seen below, you should end up with a grub-2.04-for-windows folder.

#Installl grub on usb witg druvers download

Download the and extract (unzip) its contents to your Windows desktop. Though you can still chainload and run files from NTFS, exFAT partitions.ġ.

installl grub on usb witg druvers

While Grub2 UEFI (i386-efi/x86_64-efi) will only install on a Fat/Fat32 formatted partition. Note: Grub2 for BIOS (i386-pc) can be installed on a exFAT, NTFS, or Fat/Fat32 partition.









Installl grub on usb witg druvers